Wyatt Resigns From Clark, Heads BAB Member Service

WILLIAM R. WYATT has resigned as vice president in charge of the New York office of George W. Clark Inc., station representation

firm, to join BAB as director of member service, it was announced Thursday by William B. Ryan, BAB president.

Mr. Wyatt, who will join BAB on Aug. 15, has been with the Clark organization since February. He previously was with Forjoe & Co., representation firm, as vice president of the midwest division.



Mr. Wyatt

Swezey Named to Head NARTB Labor Advisory Unit

ROBERT D. SWEZEY, WDSU-TV New Orleans, was appointed chairman of the NARTB Televison Labor Advisory Committee by NARTB President Harold E. Fellows last week.

Others named to the committee by Mr. Fellows included John M. Clifford, NBC-TV New York; Frank Falknor, CBS-TV New York; Leslie C. Johnson, WHBF-TV Rock Island, III.; Philip G. Lasky, KPIX (TV) San Francisco; Donald H. McGannon, DuMont TV Network, New York; Richard A. Moore, KTTV (TV) Los Angeles; Donald W. Thornburgh, WCAU-TV Philadelphia; Mort Weinbach, ABC-TV New York, and Edwin K. Wheeler, WWJ-TV Detroit.

Economist Named to NARTB

A LABOR ECONOMIST has been appointed to the NARTB staff to serve in the association's Employe-Employer Relations Dept., NARTB President Harold E. Fellows announced last week. He is Robert J. Gormley, who next Monday will begin his duties in assisting Richard P. Doherty, vice president in charge of employe-employer relations, and Charles Tower, assistant to Mr. Doherty.

Mr. Gormley has been an industrial specialist and labor economist for the Defense Production Administration since April 1951.

NAFBRAT Names Board

ELECTED to three-year terms on board of directors of National Assn. for Better Radio and Television, Los Angeles, are Mrs. A. Stanley Adams, national vice president, Kappa Gamma Pi (scholastic honor society for Catholic women's colleges), NAFBRAT corresponding secretary and chairman of radio-TV program guide committee; Benedict Cottone, member, Lucas & Thomas, Washington law firm, and former FCC general counsel; John C. Schwarzwalder, manager, KUHT (TV), U. of Houston station, and Paul Witty, professor of education, Northwestern U., Evanston, Ill.

Incumbent directors re-elected for threeyear terms are: Mmes. Clara S. Logan (NAF-BRAT president), W. J. Armstrong, Mary Daehler, Oscar Gross and Ellwood J. Munger; Drs. Richard Atkinson (NAFBRAT first vice president), Clifton E. Moore, Dallas Smythe and Norman Woelfel; Gilbert Seldes, Robert Lewis Shayon, Charles Siepmann and Jerome H. Spingarn.

OKLAHOMA TV-KOMA MERGER GIVES STATE'S CAPITAL ITS SECOND VHF

Among four FCC grants last week was that of Vhf Ch. 9 at Oklahoma City to Oklahoma Television Corp. after that firm's merger with competing KOMA there. Its proposed 1,500-ft. antenna will be the world's tallest man-made structure, the grantee claims. Other grants are made at Jackson, Miss.; Champaign, Ill., and Kearney, Neb.

OKLAHOMA CITY was assured its second vhf television station with FCC approval last week of the application by Oklahoma Television Corp. for vhf Ch. 9 after its merger with competitive applicant KOMA there. KOMA dismissed its Ch. 9 bid and acquires 50% interest in the grantee.

The action came under FCC's revised expediting procedure whereby the Commission acts upon survivor applicants at the next meeting following the withdrawal of competing bids. KOMA withdrew Tuesday as Oklahoma TV amended to show a half interest would be given KOMA Inc. and that the original Oklahoma TV principals would reduce their holding one-half. The amended bid was approved Wednesday and reported Thursday.

To use maximum effective radiated power of 316 kw visual and 156 kw aural, the station plans a 1,500-ft. antenna, described as the "tallest man-made structure in the world." The call KWTV has been requested, indicating "World's Tallest Video." Construction of the tower and other technical facilities will cost \$1.7 million with total investment, including land and studios, reaching \$2.2 million, the application

city's Independent School District.

In other TV actions last week, FCC also approved construction permits for new TV stations at Jackson, Miss., to WSLI for vhf Ch. 12; at Champaign, Ill., to Champaign-Urbana TV Inc. for uhf Ch. 21, and at Kearney, Neb., to Bi-States Co. for vhf Ch. 13.

The Ch. 12 grant to Standard Life Insurance Co.'s WSLI Jackson was made possible by the last-minute withdrawal of a competitive application by WRBC Jackson.

Similarily, the Ch. 13 grant to Bi-States Co. at Kearney was facilitated by the Tuesday withdrawal of KGFW's competing application there. Bi-States is controlled by F. Wayne Brewster and the Brewster Hospital and includes local businessmen.

Champaign-Urbana TV Inc. was unopposed in its quest for Ch. 21 at Champaign. The firm includes Vice President Dallas W. Smythe (4%), professor of economics at the U. of Illinois and former FCC economist; President Norman E. Blankman (39%) and Secretary Duncan M. Findlay (17%), both New York realtors, and Vice President Alan Blankman (17%), Baltimore realtor.

After FCC's action to grant Ch. 9 at Okla-







Mr. Bell



Mr. Griffin

Principals in Oklahoma TV Corp., new Ch. 9 grantee

disclosed. The station will be RCA-equipped throughout, it was reported.

Under the merger, Oklahoma Television officers include Board Chairman John T. Griffin, head of the Griffin grocery and radio interests in Oklahoma and Arkansas, including KOMA; President Roy J. Turner, oil man and Oklahoma ex-governor, and Executive Vice President and General Manager Edgar T. Bell, former general manager of Oklahoma Pub. Co., owner of WKY-AM-TV Oklahoma City.

WKY-TV has been operating on vhf Ch. 4 since mid-1949. Earlier this year, FCC authorized two new uhf outlets, one on Ch. 19 to KMPT (TV) owned by KLPR there, and the other on Ch. 25 to KTVQ (TV), under common ownership with KWCO Chickasha, Okla. Both uhf permittees plan September commencement dates.

The only other channel assigned to Oklahoma City is vhf Ch. 13, reserved for non-commercial educational use and now in competition between the State Regents and the

homa City, Mr. Bell said every effort will be made to get the station on the air sometime this year. It is assumed the station will affiliate with CBS since WKY-TV is basically affiliated with NBC, and KOMA is a CBS Radio outlet.

with NBC, and KOMA is a CBS Radio outlet.

Oklahoma Television Corp. ownership, as amended under the merger plan, includes: Board Chairman John T. Griffin, head of the Griffin family grocery interests in Oklahoma and Arkansas and 57% owner of KOMA Inc.; President Roy J. Turner (now 20% owner but will be 10% owner when KOMA Inc. assumes 50% ownership), ex-governor of Oklahoma and partner in Harper-Turner, oil firm; Executive Vice President Edgar T. Bell (holds 263 shares Class B non-voting stock); Vice President Luther T. Dulaney (now 30%, later 15%), managing partner in Luther T. Dulaney Co., Oklahoma distributor for RCA appliances and furniture manufacturer; Vice President F. E. Harper (now 20%, later 10%), oil business associate of Mr. Turner; Secretary Henry S. Griffing (now 30%, later 15%, as trustee for Video Independent Theatres, beneficial owner), president and principal stockholder in Video Independent Theatres, operator of 192 theatres in 50 Oklahoma and Texas cities; Vice President James C. Leake, 2% owner of KOMA Inc.;